Littell - Lord Farmstead
A pastoral site comprising a 19th-century Gothic cottage, stone springhouse, summer kitchen, Osage orange trees and a pond, provides the setting for the Littell-Lord House. This charming rural complex is a rare reminder of Union County’s agricultural
past. The property was built circa 1760 by Andrew Littell, a farmer and weaver. Although Andrew died in 1790, the property
remained in the Littell family’s ownership until 1817, when it went through a succession of owners until the Lord family purchased the farm in 1867. These later owners, including the Lord family, constructed several additions to the house.
The first floor features an Empire-Victorian parlor and a 19thcentury kitchen. A staircase leads to an enlarged second floor, once a small loft. Upstairs is a child’s room containing antique toys and a Victorian bedroom with cottage furniture. The central portion of what is now the Farmhouse Museum was built in 1760. It is believed that the original house consisted of three rooms on
the first floor and an open loft above. Andrew, his wife Mary and their seven children resided in this house.
Listed on the National and State Registers of Historic Places
Operated by the Historical Society of Berkeley Heights
• Hands-on replicas of 19th-century toys
• Last remaining stone springhouse in Union County
• Pump house & Corncrib
For Hours: https://sites.google.com/site/hsofbh/
Photo By Josconklin – Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=21012830