The Nitschke House (circa 1880) is one of Kenilworth’s original wood-frame, clapboard farmhouses, and represents the architectural style typical of homes built in the area during the 1800s. The house is named for one of Kenilworth’s pioneers, Oswald J. Nitschke, who owned the home and resided there in the early 1900s. He advocated the 1907 incorporation of Kenilworth and was elected to the first Council, serving for more than seven years.
A three-term mayor, Nitschke was responsible for development of the unique 120-foot-wide Boulevard and its extension through the Union County Park System. The Kenilworth Historical Society has restored the house and transformed it into a “living history” museum and cultural center.
Listed on the National and State Registers of Historic Places
Operated by the Kenilworth Historical Society
• Tour of recently restored Nitschke House, furnished in the late 19th-century and early 20th-century periods
• Teaching garden with heirloom flowers, herbs and more
• Wheelchair accessibility by elevator
For Hours: kenilworthhistoricalsociety.org or call (908) 276-9090
Photo By Josconklin – Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=21189034