The First Presbyterian Congregation of Connecticut Farms was established in 1730, when the townspeople built “the little church on the hill,” and named it after the town. The original building was the weekday meeting house for public affairs, and a house of worship on Sundays. The British burned the church down in 1780, during the Battle of Connecticut Farms.
Rev. Caldwell moved his family into the Connecticut Farms manse, empty at that time, for greater safety. This is where his wife, Hannah Caldwell, was shot through a window in the manse, during the battle, in June 1780.
The rebuilding of the “Meeting House of Connecticut Farms” began in 1783. The church roof was raised on October 11, 1784. Work was completed by 1788 in the same location as the first church, with the new building built in stone. The Presbyterian Church of Connecticut Farms has been and continues to be a strong presence in the Township of Union, and is home to a vibrant congregation.
Listed on the National and State Registers of Historic Places
• Historic building dating from 1780
• Historic cemetery dating to 1732 (final resting place of Elizabeth’s first mayor and several Revolutionary War soldiers)
For Hours: ctfarms.org or call (908) 688-3164
Photo By Daniel Case, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=3660873
888 Stuyvesant AveUnion, New Jersey 07083United States