The city’s oldest known structure, the original portion of the Carter House was built in 1741 by farmer Benjamin Carter and moved to its current location in 1986 to save it from demolition. The front Dutch door of the East Jersey cottage is original, as are many of the wood planks that comprise the first story floor. Legend has it they were ballast from Europe in the early 1700s.
A Colonial kitchen features an enormous hearth outfitted with period cooking implements, while the nearby library reflects the style of late Victorian times. Nearly 1,000 volumes that focus on Summit and New Jersey history and local authors are available. Furniture in the dining room dates to the mid-1800s, and The Summit Room boasts displays of local memorabilia, souvenirs and ephemera. The May Room contains the archives of the Summit Historical Society. Collections document Summit’s early development as a summer resort and commuter suburb.
– The museum’s new garage serves as a permanent home for Chemical Engine No. 1, owned by the Summit Fire Department since the vehicle rolled off the assembly line in 1923.
– Hanging in the Carter House library is “Trout Fishing on the Delaware,” by noted Hudson River School painter Worthington Whittredge, who called Summit home for many decades.
Operated by the Summit Historical Society
For Hours: (908) 277-1747, www.summithistoricalsociety.org or email@example.com